André De Shields & Denée Benton To Announce 2022 Drama League Award Nominees on Monday, April 25, 2022

The Drama League (Artistic Director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks; Executive Director, Bevin Ross) will welcome Tony Award winner and Drama League Distinguished Performance Award nominee André De Shields (Hadestown) and Tony Award and Drama League Distinguished Performance Award Nominee Denée Benton (The Great Comet of 1812, “The Gilded Age”) as hosts of the 2022 Drama League Awards nominations event on Monday, April 25, 2022 at 11:00AM at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts (40 Lincoln Center Plaza, New York, NY). The nomination announcement event will also be livestreamed by BroadwayWorld, beginning at 11:00AM ET. 

Drama League Board President and Founder of BroadwayHD Bonnie Comley says: 

“We are thrilled to celebrate the resilience and talent of our theater community because this year is about so much more, it will be a homecoming!”

The 88th Annual Drama League Awards will be presented in person at The Ziegfeld Ballroom (141 W 54th St, New York, NY) on Friday, May 20, 2022, at 12:00PM. More information about the ceremony and how to attend can be found at 

The 2022 Awards will recognize eligible Broadway and Off-Broadway (non-virtual only) productions that began preview performances between March 16, 2021, and April 23, 2022. Keeping in the tradition of honoring the outstanding accomplishments of the theatrical community, as they have since 1935, Drama League Awards will be bestowed in the following categories, in addition to new competitive directing categories: 

  • Distinguished Performance Award
  • Outstanding Production of a Play
  • Outstanding Production of a Musical
  • Outstanding Revival of a Play 
  • Outstanding Revival of a Musical 
  • *new* Outstanding Direction of a Play 
  • *new* Outstanding Direction of a Musical

As previously announced, Lileana Blain-Cruz, Billy Crystal, Hugh Jackman and Willette Murphy Klausner are this year’s Special Recognition Honorees. Hugh Jackman  will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award for his outstanding work on stage and in film as part of the musical theater community; Billy Crystal will be presented with the Contribution to the Theater Award for his extraordinary work on stages across the country and commitment to mentorship in the field; Lileana Blain-Cruz will be honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing for her incredible contributions to the field of directing; and producer Willette Murphy Klausner will be honored with the Gratitude Award in recognition of her leadership, commitment, and dedication to theater and the entertainment industry.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s